Who was known as the gipper?

The original gipper was George Gipp, American football player at Notre Dame. It comes from Knute Rockne, his coach, who famously said "Win one for the Gipper." President Ronald Reagan was as referred to "the Gipper" since he played Gipp in the 1940 biographical film, "Knute Rockne, All American."

---

George Gipp, nicknamed "The Gipper", was a college football player at the University of Notre Dame under head coach Knute Rockne. President Ronald Reagan, while he was an actor, portrayed George Gipp, and as a result also became known as The Gipper.