What is the largest hornet in the world?

Asian giant hornets are the largest hornets on earth. They have an average body length of about 1.8 inches, a 0.24 inch stinger, and a 3 inch wingspan. The queen Asian giant hornets exceed a body length of 2 inches while the workers attain a maximum length of 1.6 inches.