How does the air quality index work?

The AQI is an index for reporting daily air quality. It tells you how clean or unhealthy your air is, and related health effects. The AQI is calculated for four major air pollutants regulated by the Clean Air Act: ground level ozone, particle pollution, carbon monoxide, and sulfur dioxide.