Is apple sauce a substitute for vegetable oil?

Yes. To substitute applesauce for oil, all you have to do is use a 1:1 ratio of applesauce to replace oil. That means, if your recipe calls for 1c oil, just replace that with 1c unsweetened applesauce instead.