How do you get red wine stains out?

On a carpet, blot it with a paper towel, then sprinkle salt liberally. Vacuum when dry. On white fabric, use bleach. Try a mix of Dawn and hydrogen peroxide, or vinegar and laundry detergent. Try a commercial stain remover like Shout.