How many people are in the l. g. b. t. q. community?

According to a 2019 study by the Williams Institute at the UCLA School of Law, an estimated 4.5 percent of U.S. adults identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender, and they tend to be younger and poorer than the population at large.