How did artichokes get their name?

The word artichoke comes from Arab-occupied Spain. There, the western Arabic word for a similar plant, called al-karsufa, turned into the Spanish alcarchofa. In North Italy, it became articiocco, most likely because ciocco was the word for stump, and arti was a version of the prefix arch, or high.