Who is the engineer on star trek?

It depends on which series. Montgomery Scott, or more commonly referred to as Scotty, was the chief engineer on the original series which aired in the sixties. Star Trek the Next Generation started with Lieutenant Commander Argyle and then changed to Geordi La Forge at the start of Season 2.