What is an inverter generator?

Inverter generators are similar to conventional generators in that they both produce AC power. Inverter generators have extra circuitry to convert the AC to DC then use an inverter to convert the DC to AC. Many claim inverter generators run quieter and more efficiently than other gas powered ones