Where did the deadliest avalanche ever?

The deadliest avalanche ever recorded was in Yungay and Ranrahirca, Peru, on May 31st, 1970. Nearly 20,000 people were killed when an earthquake triggered and avalanche on Mount Huascaran, causing a large column of ice and snow to descend on the towns below.