When was the nightmare before christmas?

In 1982, Disney started to consider developing The Nightmare Before Christmas as either a short film or 30-minute holiday television special. In 1990, Burton found out that Disney still owned the film rights; he and Selick committed to produce a full-length film with the Burton as director.