Who invented the candy m. and m.'s?

Forrest Mars Sr., of the Mars Company copied the idea for the m and m's in the 1930s when he saw Spanish soldiers eating British-made Smarties, chocolate pellets with a shell of hardened sugar syrup. Mars received a patent for his own process on March 3, 1941