What is nuclear power fission?

In nuclear fission, atoms are split apart, releasing energy. All nuclear power plants use nuclear fission, and most of these plants use uranium atoms. During nuclear fission, a neutron collides with a uranium atom and splits it, releasing a large amount of energy in the form of heat and radiation.

---

In nuclear fission, atoms are split apart, which releases energy. All nuclear power plants use nuclear fission. During nuclear fission, a neutron collides with a uranium atom and splits it, releasing a large amount of energy in the form of heat and radiation.