What happens when a black widow spider bites you?

Black widows have a venom containing the neurotoxin latrotoxin. Female spiders have large venom glands and their bite can be harmful to large vertebrates, including humans. Despite their notoriety, widow bites rarely cause death or serious harm. Only the bites of females are dangerous to humans.