What is a substitute for canned milk?

That would depend on whether the canned milk you are trying to substitute for is sweetened condensed milk or evaporated milk. You could carefully reduce whole milk at very low temperature to half the original volume, but you'd need to add an equal amount of sugar for sweetened condensed milk.