How do the ghost in pacman work?

Pacman ghosts have three different modes, chase, scatter, and frightened. Chase, they try to find and capture pacman. Scatter, they stop chasing for a few seconds and go to their respective home corners for a break. Frightened, pacman eats an energizer so they become vulnerable and aimlessly wander.