How hot is an ancho chili?

Anchos are poblano peppers, they share the same range of mild heat: 1,000 to 1,500 Scoville heat units. This puts it about two to eight time milder than a jalapeño. Though, expect the ancho to tend towards the hotter end of that spectrum.