Why is greenland part of denmark?

Danish and Norwegian explorers colonized Greenland in the early 1600's, but Norway gave up their claims on the island in 1814. In 1953, Greenland became fully integrated into the Danish state through provisions in the Constitution of Denmark, making all Greenland residents citizens of Denmark.