What is a m 4 gun?

The M4 is a US military weapon platform chambered in 5.56 NATO. It is based on the Armalite 15 rifle. The key features of the M4 include a direct impingement action and a buffer tube stock. This platform has many variants including the Mark 18 close quarters rifle and the Mark 12 sniper rifle.