How can you tell if a honeydew is ripe?

The best indicator of ripeness is aroma. If the honeydew's sweet, lightly floral fragrance is noticeable, it's probably ready to cut and eat. The outside of the melon should feel firm but give slightly to pressure, particularly where the stem was. If it feels rock-hard, give it a little more time.