What does sharp cheese mean?

The longer a cheese ages the sharper it becomes. After aging for a minimum of nine months cheeses are considered to be sharp. Once they age for at least 15 months cheeses are considered extra sharp. Sharp cheeses have a strong, fully developed flavor.