What was the first time machine?

The first Time Machine movie, (also known promotionally as H. G. Wells' The Time Machine) is a 1960 American science fiction film from Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, produced and directed by George Pal, that stars Rod Taylor, Yvette Mimieux, and Alan Young.