Why do you put a pickle on the christmas tree?

A glass pickle ornament is hidden on the Christmas tree. Then, the first child to find it on Christmas morning gets a special treat or gets to open the first gift. The tradition is to keep kids from rushing through the process of opening presents so they can learn to appreciate each gift.