What happens if you put batteries in water?

If a household battery (double A, AAA, C, D, 9 volt, etc.) is dropped in water accidentally and then removed, nothing happens. If it is left in water for days or weeks, then the casing could degrade and allow the chemicals inside to leak, leading to potential injury by contact with skin.