How will the universe end?

The fate of the universe is determined by its density. The preponderance of evidence to date, based on measurements of the rate of expansion and the mass density, favors a universe that will continue to expand indefinitely, resulting in the "Big Freeze" scenario.

---

One accepted theory is that the universe will end (possibly 5 billion years from now) when it expands enough to begin to cool rather than heat, in other words, it will "freeze out". All heat transitions to cold if not fueled. So, when the "fuel" runs out, so will the universe.