What's the difference between a paramedic and an emt?

An EMT is trained in basic life support skills and drives the ambulance. The paramedic is trained in advance life support with advance skills. EMT takes about 3-4 months of training while a paramedic takes about 12-18 months on top of having been an EMT for at least a year.