Is magnesium water soluble?

Magnesium (Mg) is not water-soluble (or fat-soluble), but combined with oxygen (Magnesium Oxide), it becomes water- soluble. But MagOx does not absorb in the digestive system as well as Mg Citrate, Mg Lactate, or Mg Chloride.