How many legs does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop?

3, but A group of engineering students from Purdue University reported that its licking machine, modeled after a human tongue, took an average of 364 licks to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop. Twenty of the group's volunteers assumed the licking challenga and averaged 252 licks each to the center