How many legs does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop?

3, but A group of engineering students from Purdue University reported that its licking machine, modeled after a human tongue, took an average of 364 licks to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop. Twenty of the group's volunteers assumed the licking challenga and averaged 252 licks each to the center

---

In 2015 a scientific study by Mathematicians at New York University, showed approximately 1000 licks. The study was published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics.

---

Average of 364 licks is needed to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop, based on experiment performed by a group of engineering students at Purdue University, using licking machine modeled after a human tongue. 20 volunteers also assumed the licking challenge and averaged 252 licks each to the center.