What's the difference between a lake and a river?

The main difference between lakes and rivers consists in the fact that a river is a moving body of water, whereas a lake is an immobile body of water. This also determines their difference in appearance, as a river is long and its shape is defined by its course. It basically looks like a snake.

---

A lake is still or standing water, while a river is flowing water.