Can stag beetles fly?

Believe it or not Stag Beetles can fly. Males will fly out to look for a mate at dusk on humid, thundery evenings between May and August. Female Stag Beetles can also fly but rarely do so. ... Male Stag Beetles have large mandibles (jaws) that look a bit like the antlers of a deer, hence its name.