How do you use a load stone in minecraft?

Once you've got a lodestone block, plop it down on the group, whip out your compass, and mash the “use” button. You'll know it worked if the compass gets an enchantmenty sheen to it. If the lodestone gets broken, or is in another dimension, the compass won't work at all.