What is the origin of take it with a grain of salt?

Two common hypothesis of the origin of this phrase comes from ancient Rome. One is Pliny the Elder's antidote to poison "addito salis grano" meaning "after have adding a grain of salt". The other is General Pompey's believe he could make himself immune to poison by ingesting the poison with salt.