Is salt water a base?

Adding pure salt to pure water does not affect its pH, which means it doesn't make it into an acid or a base. But if you're asking about ocean water, which has a more complicated set of ingredients, the answer is yes. The ocean's average pH is around 8.1, which is somewhat alkaline or basic.