Did they have helicopters in world war two?

The German-made Flettner 282 helicopter was employed against Allied naval assets near the end of World War II. The Sikorsky R-4 helicopter was one of US's only helicopters to see active service in World War II, acting predominantly as a rescue and transport asset in the China-Burma-India Theater.