What is the difference between regular milk and evaporated milk?

Regular milk is cooked until most of the water in the regular milk is boiled away, about 60% by volume. The 40% that is left is much thicker than milk and is usually canned. This canned milk has a very long shelf life and can be reconstituted by adding water.