What is the difference between a seed and a nut?

First off, there is a difference between nuts and seeds themselves. Technically, nuts are the hard-shelled “fruit” of certain plants. Conversely, seeds are an edible small plant enclosed in a seed coat. Most nuts are seeds, but not all seeds are nuts.