What is in a kidney?

Each kidney contains up to a million functioning units called nephrons. A nephron consists of a filtering unit of tiny blood vessels called a glomerulus attached to a tubule. When blood enters the glomerulus, it is filtered and the remaining fluid then passes along the tubule.

---

Organ that help maintain fluid, pH, electrolyte balance in the body, excrete and metabolize toxins from the body, stimulate red blood cell production and support calcium balance in the bones.