What is a hobbit?

Hobbits are a mythical race of people in books written by j R R Tolkien. They were also referred to as halflings due to their small size. Archeologist subsequently used the name 'hobbit' to describe skeletal remains of small hominids discovered on the Indonesian island of Flores.