Where did the weekend get his name from?

Abel Tesfaye chose his stage name, “The Weeknd”, after he dropped out of school at the age of seventeen, left one weekend, and never came home. The “e” was removed from "weekend" to avoid copyright issues with a Canadian band that shared the same name.