Why is it called the seventh inning stretch?

During the baseball game, it is tradition to allow the audience a chance to stand up and walk around a bit. After seven innings, people get tired of sitting and need to "stretch their legs". So, there is a period to stretch your legs after the seventh inning, or the seventh inning stretch.