Did tom hanks win an oscar for castaway?

No, Tom Hanks was nominated for Best Actor in 2000 for his role as Chuck Noland in Castaway. Russell Crowe won for his role as Maximus Decimus Meridius in Gladiator

---

Tom Hanks was nominated for an Oscar for Best Actor at the 73rd Academy Awards for his work on Cast Away, but lost to Russell Crowe's performance in Gladiator. Perhaps if volley balls were allowed to vote, the results might have been different.