What does pearcing do in minecraft?

The Piercing enchantment allows the arrow fired from a crossbow to pierce multiple entities. Add the Piercing enchantment to any crossbow using an enchanting table, anvil, or game command. Use the enchanted crossbow to fight, just line up your enemies and then fire an arrow through them all!!