What is glycerin made from?

Glycerin is an organic compound known more formally as glycerol. Its common sources are animal fat and vegetable oil. Glycerin is a clear, odorless liquid at room temperature, and it has a sweet taste. It's most commonly used in soap and is also a common ingredient in many pharmaceuticals.