How much did the american civil war cost?

Estimates vary but the cost of the Civil war was roughly 5.2 billion dollars. This is clearly not inflation adjusted and it’s difficult to calculate inflation prior to the beginning of modern banking, but in today’s dollars needless to say it would be much more.