What's the substitute for whipping cream?

To make a good whipping cream substitute, melt ¼ cup unsalted butter and slowly whisk in ¾ cup whole milk or half-and-half. This is the equivalent of 1 cup of heavy or whipping cream. For a vegan substitute, combine 2/3 cup (159 ml) of soy milk with 1/3 cup (79 ml) of olive oil.