How many landlocked countries are there in africa?

16 countries are landlocked in Africa: Lesotho, Eswatini, Niger, Chad, Central African Republic, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Botswana, Malawi, Uganda, Ethiopia, Rwanda, Zambia, South Sudan, Zambia and Zimbabwe.