What is the consistency of coconut milk?

Coconut milk is made by pureeing grated fresh coconut in water and then pressing the puree through cheesecloth. The consistency varies, depending on how much water is used, and can range from a milk to a heavy cream due to the high content of fat that solidifies at room temperature.