How many different shades of gray are there?

Theoretically, there are a nearly infinite number of shades of gray. Practically, the RGB video monitor can display 256 of them. Also, there are variations on gray, such as Iron. Dun. Drab. Leaden. Grizzled. Slate. Mousy. Ashen. Limy. Salt-and-pepper. Dove-colored. Silvery. Pearlescent. and Dappled.