Where did japanese maples come from?

The Japanese maple got its name because it came from Japan. These trees are native to Japan, North Korea, South Korea, eastern Mongolia, and southeast Russia.

---

Japanese maple refers to the tree's native habitat of Japan. Japanese maple grows in Japan, central China and Korea. It has been long cultivated by the Japanese.