Can you store flour and sugar together?

They can be next to each other in the cabinet but I would not suggest opening them and pouring them both into one container. Even if you have a recipe that calls for 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of sugar it would be difficult to determine exactly how much you had of each if they've been combined.